Vermont Logo

Back

How To Become A Real Estate Agent In Vermont

By Elizabeth R. Elstien

So you want to become a real estate agent in the state of Vermont? Similar to Indiana Jones giving archaeology an exotic adventurous feel, which is not entirely true, most people have the wrong impression of real estate as a get-rich-quick occupation. In reality, real estate is a tough business where you may face long and often irregular hours, can be on call to clients at any time and must wait weeks or months to close a sale and get paid with no assurance that the sale will actually close.

As far as starting a business is concerned, the capital needed is relatively small, but you will still need several thousand dollars to get licensed, start your independent business with a broker, join real estate associations and start marketing yourself to potential home buyers or sellers. Then, it may take months until you get your first sale and the commission check that comes with it, so you must be financially stable with several months of savings to survive this time period.

Properly prepared in mind and finances, real estate can be a rewarding profession. After all, you will be helping people in your community. Just remember that you can't use the title "Realtor" unless you are member of the Vermont Association of Realtors. View detailed information on licensing with the Vermont Real Estate Commission who administers the laws and protects the public.

Still want to get your real estate license? Vermont does not have a lot of requirements to obtaining your license, as do many other states. Here's what you need to do to legally become a real estate agent in Vermont and help others buy or sell homes.

  1. Be at least 18-years old.
  2. Take 40 hours of real estate pre-licensing education from an approved real estate school. Those licensed in another state may not have to take the Vermont pre-licensing classes.
  3. Pass both the national and state real estate licensing exams.
  4. Apply for your license within one year of passing the real estate examination, and pay the $50 license fee
  5. Get affiliated with a licensed broker in the state of Vermont and be associated with the broker's office.
Share this:

Comments

Leave a comment:

* Login in order to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join for Free



Become an Expert Contributor

Have some knowledge to share, and want easy and effective exposure to our audience? Get your articles or guides featured on Vermont Homes today! Learn more about being an expert contributor.

Learn More